Gillion Reads: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of those books where you have to read it, HAVE TO. My cousin Tyler has always told me to read this book because not only is it a short read, but it is a teen read. My cousin in is in twenties and he had read it when it first came out and has loved it ever since. Since I am seeing him and my other cousins and family members in Gerogia this year, I decided to give it a read. And here I am giving this review.

Perks is about a boy named Charlie who writes to his friend (who I think is the reader) and he writes about his first year in high school. In the beginning, it talks about how one of Charlie’s friend commited suicide and his support group was talking about it and it shocked everyone. Now, he is in high school and all of his friends have left him. He meets new people, mainly Sam and Patrick,  and becomes best friends with them. This book talks about mental illness, what high school is actually like, and the value of family and friends.

I have seen the movie (I know I broke my own rule) not knowing that it was a book first. It wasn’t until a few months after the movie came out I think,  I realized that it was a book and I have been wanting it since. I currently have the signed edition from Barnes and Noble thanks to their awesome Black Friday deals (guys it’s seriously worth it, it’s one of my favorite sales of all time).

The book itself is amazing because it was told through letters and Charlie is writing them to his friend, who I assumed was the reader until I actually realized towards the end. The book took places during the early nineties which I thought was great because the nineties were great. Charlie would always start it with the date and “Dear Friend.” You really don’t know who he is writing to until you get towards the end of the book where he talks about how Susan will always talk about you (you being the reader) which took me by surprise.

As for the characters, I thought that they were well written and that they had relatable problems and pros in their life. The author talks about relatable teenager things that all of us can relate to. Yes, it did have some sexy sexy time stuff and other things but it is just a book that needs to be read by every high schooler before they graduate. Charlie was just a little special and it was interesting to see his feelings being written out by himself and how he feels about things that are going on in his life. Sam had to be my favorite because she was almost a sister figure to Charlie even though Charlie had feelings for her. Patrick was also my favorite because I want to know so much more about him. They are friendship goals honestly.

Over all I did give this book a 5/5 stars because it was not only a quick read, but it was a very sentimental one. Until then, go watch my video review of it.

 

Leave a Reply

