Book Reviews

Gillion Reads: Fangirl

Ah yes, the popular Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I did not love it as much as I did with Eleanor and Park. Why do you ask?? Well, let me tell you.

Fangirl is about a girl named Cath who is SUPER introverted and she is stuck in the Simon/Baz fandom and she doesn’t open up much until the very end. Cath is also one of the top fanfiction writers on a fanfic (much like Wattpad) for the Simon/Baz fandom. You see Cath evolve into a standard college kids within 413 pages.

I feel like this book was just a bit to over hyped. I expected two contrasting characters (Wren being extrovert and Cath being introvert) but holy cow I didn’t expect so much introvertness. Cath is the complete opposite of me, I am extrovert and can be a bit introvert at times. Cath doesn’t want to let go of certain things in life and does not want to explore what college has to offer. Don’t get me wrong, I will be a freshman in college within a few months, but I will not be like Cath.

Levi and Regan are probably the real MVP’s in this whole novel. They are both trying to get Cath to come out of her shell and it does happen through Levi, mostly. Levi tries and tries again, and succeeds. What brings Cath and Levi together is Cath’s fanfic, Carry On. Levi understands and notices that if he can get in her world, that he can get her comfortable in her surroundings and it works.

What kinda makes me sad is that I want to see the novel about Cath and Wren’s mom. Cath did kind of start it but we never got to actually see it. I feel like being on booksagram and booktube for so long and hearing people talk about it I feel like it kind of ruined the book for me. I was expecting so much like from Eleanor and Park, which was my first Rowell novel. It didn’t meet my expectations and I really hope her other novels do. I gave this one a 4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

