TBR · Uncategorized

July TBR- Retellings

I am typing this in June and putting this up in July. I know I have been bad with TBRs on here and my Instagram (@gillionreads) so that is why I will type them the month before so I know that they will be up and these books will be my final decision. If you don’t subscribe to my YouTube channel (www.youtube.com/user/lilsquonker) then you would know that I will be doing a theme each month so I can nail out certain books in certain genres. I have done LGBTQIA+, romance, dystopian and the list goes on from there. This month I decided to do some retellings.

Winter by Marissa Meyer:

This is the fourth book in the Lunar Chronicles series (technically last not including Stars Above) and it is a retelling of Snow White and the conclusion of the adventure with Cinder and gang. I will be listening to the audio book instead of actually reading it because the book itself is huge (over 800 I think) and I will be listening to it over the month and during my Mexico trip this month.

My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows and Cynthia Hand:

I got this box in my Owlcrate last year and I have been meaning to read it because everyone is reading this now. I decided to put this in my retellings because the authors tell the story of Lady Jane and put a twist on it so that is why. I heard it is super comical by various people and it has been getting nothing but great praise.

Roseblood by A. G. Howard:

Another book that I got from Owlcrate and it is a retelling of The Phantom of the Opera aka one of the best musicals ever. The book is about a girl who I believe has voice lessons from a mysterious guy, because it’s Phantom. I have heard some good stuff from people who have read her other series and it does have some mixed opinions so I really hope I do like this one.

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter:

Not only is this book a close twin to my birthday, it is another Owlcrate box. This is a retelling of the Russian folk tale of “Vassilissa the Beautiful”. The book is about Vassa being sent out to a store for lightbulbs in the middle of the night. The store where she goes to is known to behead shoplifters, but Vassa has a trick up her sleeve and so does the shop owner. A lot of the books from here are slightly dark so anything I don’t finish I will put to October to my dark reads TBR.

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh:

This is another book where I have heard mixed opinions on. I have heard her writing being called as enchanting and the plot line to be very confusing. This is retelling of A Thousand and One Nights and is about (I’m going to call her) Zad and her friend is murdered by this monster who is known to kill his future brides the night that they are married and Zad is willing to be the next bride to know what has happened. I was cautious on buying it but then I saw the new paperback cover and I was sold. Plus it was only $9 at Walmart.

Everland by Wendy Spinale:

Again, Owlcrate. This is a retelling of Peter Pan and I am super excited for this one. The book is about a girl who tries to save her sister when Captain Hook takes her. She meets Pete(r) and they both try to save the sister. There aren’t any Peter Pan retellings so I am super excited for this one.

And I Darken by Kiersten White:

This is a retelling of Vlad the Impaler but with a gender twist. I have been hearing nothing but great reviews for this book and I am super excited to read it. Basically the novel is about two siblings who get kidnapped to live in the opposite party and they are trying to escape. Again, since the book is so huge I will be listening to this book on audio.

 

 

Leave a Reply

